Delegation to Represent Iowa’s Collaboration at National Summit

National Attention at One Water Summit 2016: How Iowa is Improving Its Water Quality

“Iowa’s collaborative approach to improving water quality has received national attention,” says Sean McMahon, executive director of the Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance (IAWA). He also said, “We are fostering strong partnerships among the public and private sectors; urban and rural communities; agriculture and environmental sectors; and point source and nonpoint source organizations to find the most cost-effective ways to improve water quality. Our approach can serve as an important resource for the roadmap and we look forward to learning about successful models from other states.”

One Water Summit 2016 Info-graphic

As a result, leaders from across the country gathered for a thought-provoking and action-oriented national summit on what it will take to secure a sustainable water future for all. This is the perfect backdrop for solutions-focused conversation about how we value and manage water to foster economic prosperity, community well-being, and environmental sustainability.

Here is a complete list of the Iowa delegation:

  • Harry Ahrenholtz, Chairman of Agriculture’s Clean Water Alliance
  • Tariq Baloch, Cedar Rapids Public Works director
  • Steve Bruere, president of Peoples Company
  • Karey Claghorn, Iowa Soybean Association chief operating officer
  • Wayne Fredericks, Iowa Soybean Association president and farmer
  • Jonathan Gano, Des Moines Public Works director
  • Mark Jackson, conservation farmer and owner of Jackson Farms
  • Larry James, Urban Land Institute executive director
  • Michelle Jones, Iowa Soybean Association environmental communications specialist
  • Jim Jordahl, IAWA director of programs and operations
  • Matt Lechtenberg, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship water quality coordinator
  • Todd Peterson, Winfield (a Land O’ Lakes Company) stewardship lead
  • Donna Ramaeker Zahn, IAWA communications director
  • Tim Smith, national conservation and stewardship champion and farmer
  • Jessica Turba, Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management state hazard mitigation & disaster recovery planner
  • Roger Wolf, Iowa Soybean Association director of Environmental Programs and Services

Lastly, read about the following One Water Summit in New Orleans, Louisiana.