April 21, 2020

The 2020 Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance Iowa Watershed Awards

Honorees Recognized with the IAWA Iowa Watershed Award

During the 50th anniversary of Earth Week, the Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance congratulates the 2020 IAWA Iowa Watershed Award recipients!

IAWA developed the Iowa Watershed Awards program with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Conservation Districts of Iowa, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

Neil Shaffer, watershed coordinator for the Silver Creek Watershed, has been named the 2020 Iowa Watershed Coordinator of the Year.

Four coordinators across Iowa are honored with the Circle of Excellence award. They include:

In addition, Shannon Moeller, project coordinator for the Iowa Seed Corn Cover Crops Initiative, is honored with a new Impact award as part of the IAWA Iowa Watershed Award program.

Each recipient is recognized for their unique and steadfast efforts to work with many diverse partners in an inclusive watershed approach that best fits the landscape of each local area.

The recipients will receive funding for their local watershed program and for their own professional development.

Neil Shaffer

Miranda Haes

John Rathbun

John Swanson

John Wills

Shannon Moeller